NQLC Board of Directors 2021-2023

 In News

NQLC Board of Directors 2021-2023

On 12 November 2021, Ward Meetings took place in each of NQLC’s 10 representative wards. The single item of business for each Ward Meeting was to elect a representative from each Ward, which would then collectively form the NQLC Board of Directors for the 2021-2023 period. In accordance with the NQLC Rule Book, one (1) ward representative is elected from Charters Towers/Hughenden, Innisfail, Mackay/Proserpine, Mt Garnet, Tully, Palm Island, Townsville/Ayr and Yarrabah; with (2) representatives elected from Cairns and Tablelands.

The election results saw the directors for Cairns, Innisfail, Mackay/Proserpine, Mt Garnet, Tully, Townsville/Ayr and Yarrabah re-elected to their seats; and vacancies in both Charters Towers/Hughenden and Palm Island Wards. The elected directors took office at the close of the 2021 Annual General Meeting which took place on 27 November 2021 in Townsville.

The first Board of Director Meeting was held on Tuesday, 18 January 2022 in Cairns. In accordance with section 11.6 of the NQLC Rule Book, Directors appointed two NQLC members to fill the Charters Towers/Hughenden and Palm Island vacancies.

All positions on the NQLC Board are now filled. Please see below the Ward Representative(s) for each Ward for the 2021-2023 period.


Cairns Ward: Ms Sarah Addo & Mr Warren Martens

Charters Towers/Hughenden Ward: Mr Richard Hoolihan

Innisfail Ward: Ms Rona Hart

Mackay/Proserpine Ward: Mr Gary Mooney

Mt Garnet Ward: Mr Danny Hooligan

Tablelands Ward: Ms Kaylene Malthouse and Ms Joann Schmider

Palm Island Ward: Ms Delena Foster

Townsville/Ayr Ward: Ms Angelina Akee

Tully Ward: Mr Sam Backo

Yarrabah Ward: Mr Errol (Mala) Neal


To contact your relevant Ward Representative, please phone our office and we will put you in touch with them.

Recent Posts